h1

Break it down now!

February 4, 2010

Oh yeah, just like that baby.

I love a good break down now and then. Normally when I breakdown a script I have a smoke, sit down either alone or with one other person, and firstly read over the script. You can’t just scan for words like “old man”, or “blue picture frame”, the story needs to make sense. The story needs to make so much sense that you are watching the movie in your head.

Take a good old fashion pile of breakdown sheets, box of highlighters, post-it notes, pencils, pens, rulers. And GO.

I love this stuff. That’s why I chose to come to film school, cause I have a pretty good idea at what the work load is going to be like and I really can’t wait. Living out of a suitcase and a huge RV… I’m down.

The last film I directed was called A Bitter Taste of Love.  Building the shooting schedule was a nightmare, right in the middle of the busiest time of the year. and my actors had jobs and schedules I had to work around. I was able to shoot at different times of the day and really made it work.

Leave a Reply

